The Best and Worst of Humanity

Uncategorized

Yesterday, my phone was stolen. I was working as a wine promoter in a liquor store handing out free samples and this particular couple was suspicious from the get-go. They didn’t take anything, or so we thought until it was break time and I went to use my phone. They were very slick, very good at misdirection. In my phone case was also my debit card and public transport card, and they managed to spend $100 using the PayPass technology automatically included on many credit cards these days. I hate PayPass. I never even used it and now it has betrayed me. I can get the money back, although replacement costs and time lost in hassle is frustrating.

Why am I filling the internet with bad news? Because from every situation can be taken many different kernels of truth. Most people in my situation stop at the “my stuff was stolen, those bastards, I’m angry” truth. I certainly went through that phase. But then came a different way of looking at things, which I espoused to a friend who was outraged on my behalf:

I don’t often experience the worst of humanity, and somewhat ironically it’s just reminded me of how lucky I am.

I’m surrounded by beautiful people…and loved ones in this magical bubble and it’s probably good, in a way, to be reminded that there are people who don’t have that. Those bastards who stole my phone, I know who they were because we were suspicious of them at the time, they have a story. I don’t know what it is, but pretty sure it involves drugs and some form of abuse. That doesn’t excuse them, but it makes me reflect upon my own life and imagine how different it could have been…

Upon posting that my phone etc. had been stolen, I received many heartwarming messages from the people in my life; the worst of humanity also inspired the best of humanity. I think that’s a common theme in life – something frustrating, terrible or even horrific happens to you, inevitably, and it sucks. Of course it does. And it’s completely okay to wallow in that, for a while. But look closely, because within those thorns that are pricking you there are roses. There are people who care, people who are good and a beautiful blue sky.

At the end of the day, in my case, it was just stuff. Things were stolen. Others have lost much more and I am so fortunate to have the people I do in my life, and I was extremely fortunate to have those people who have since been lost.

Thief, this does not excuse you. I hope you learn something from this, too, and I hope that whatever situation you are in which lead to this occurrence improves. You can still be the best of humanity, you always can be, and so can I.

Leave a Reply

